Western Australia
Mon 26 February 2018

Civil construction leaders recognised at CCF WA Industry & Training Awards

High achievers and industry leaders in civil construction have been celebrated at the Civil Contractors Federation WA Industry & Training Awards, presented at the CCF WA President’s Dinner on Friday, February 23.

CCF WA Chief Executive Officer Jeff Miller said the support for CCF WA’s eighth annual Industry & Training Awards had been remarkable, with 39 finalists from 18 separate organisations across ten categories.

“We want to thank and acknowledge the companies who participated, whether through a corporate entry or nominating an employee for one of the individual awards,” Mr Miller said.

“By taking part in these awards and helping CCF showcase the best of the civil construction industry, these companies have demonstrated that they truly are industry leaders.”

“Our judging panel had a very tough job this year, with an incredibly high and consistent standard of submissions.”


2017 CCF WA Industry Awards

Women in Civil Award (sponsored by Lavan) – Winner: Aimee Crofton (Valmec). Finalists: Natalia Forero (Rob Carr Pty Ltd); Tessa McGrath (DM Civil); Danielle O’Hanlon (WBHO Infrastructure); Alanna Stern (Main Roads WA); Sue Wood (Iplex Pipelines Australia)

From left: Charmaine Tsang (Lavan) and Aimee Crofton (Valmec)


Aboriginal Engagement Award (sponsored by LandCorp) – Winner: Central Earthmoving. Finalist: MJB Industries.

Craig Patterson and Raylene Bellottie from Central Earthmoving 


Workplace Health & Safety Award (sponsored by Hitachi) – Winner: Cape. Finalists: BMD; Buckby Contracting; DM Civil; WBHO Infrastructure.

Steve Gunn (Hitachi) and Ry Fonseka (Cape)


Project Manager of the Year (sponsored by Wirtgen) – Winner: Trevor MacKell – Ertech. Finalists: Andrew Graham (BMD); Ben Guile (Georgiou Group); Pete Hancock (Watpac); Trevor Nash (Buckby Contracting).

Ben Lefroy (Wirtgen) and Mick Unger (Ertech, accepting on behalf of Trevor MacKell)


Plant Operator of the Year (sponsored by CJD Equipment) – Winner: David Parker (DM Civil). Finalists: Larry Flynn (Rob Carr); Luke Holland (Buckby Contracting); Rob Roso (Rob Carr); David Walters (WA Limestone).

Keith Shugar (CJD Equipment) and David Parker (DM Civil)


Site Supervisor of the Year (sponsored by Hays) – Winner: Mark Lee (Georgiou Group). Finalists: Enrico Petrone (WA Limestone); Jay Sutherland (Buckby Contracting).

Mark Lee (Georgiou) and Abigail Sidebotham (Hays)


Engineer of the Year (sponsored by Dial Before You Dig) – Winner: Mitchell Rosher (Ertech). Finalists: Curtis Lim (Downer); Thomas Hiles (BMD).

Justin Scotchbrook (DBYD) and Mitchell Rosher (Ertech)


2017 CCF WA Training Awards
Certificate III Trainee of the Year (sponsored by Construction Training Fund) – Winner: George Albanis (Buckby Contracting); Aamar Bahina (Ertech); Viktor Pendic (Ertech).

George Albanis (Buckby Contracting) and Braden Lang (CTF)


Certificate IV Trainee of the Year (sponsored by Construction Training Fund) – Winner: Shane Mannion (Asphaltech). Finalists: Matthew Creed (Cape); Brad Nelson (Cape); Luke Paterniti (Buckby Contracting)

Shane Mannion (Asphaltech) and Braden Lang (CTF)

Training Employer of the Year (sponsored by Construction Training Fund) – Winner: Georgiou Group. Finalists: Cape; Fulton Hogan.

Alisha Carter (Georgiou) and Braden Lang (CTF)


Click here to view profiles of all finalists.