Western Australia
Tue 15 August 2017

Earth Awards honour infrastructure excellence

Excellence in infrastructure has been celebrated at the 2017 Civil Contractors Federation WA Earth Awards, presented at a gala dinner at Crown Perth on Friday, August 11.

A record crowd of more than 430 attendees saw Earth Awards presented in six categories.

The Category 6 Earth Award (for projects valued at more than $75 million) went to the City Busport Alliance (Public Transport Authority, Multiplex and BG&E) for the Perth City Link Bus Project.

The innovative underground Busport’s structure was completed utilising a top-down construction technique, which ensured minimum impact on the congested city environment.

Some unique construction methods were employed.

The roof slab of the Busport structure was developed as a combination of a podium-bridge type structure, while the combined conventionally and fibre-reinforced base slab was considered a major breakthrough in construction of underground structures in Australia.

Piles for the underground Busport were required to provide supports for future high-rise developments above ground.

The Busport was completed on time and $30 million below budget.

CCF_EA_17 (2 of 35)
The team from the City Busport Alliance, Brian Blagaich (PTA), Rob Johnson (BG&E), Mike Leach (PTA), Simon Shaw (BG&E), Emir Muhlisic (BG&E), Dave Callcott (Brookfield Multiplex), Claire Nielsen (BG&E), Andrew Cartledge (PTA),Hudson Lun (Brookfield Multiplex), Alen Perkov (BG&E)

The Category 5 ($30 – $75 million) winner was Georgiou Group for the Aubin Grove Train Station and Russell Road Upgrade.

This was the second successive WA Earth Award win for Georgiou, which also took out Category 5 last year with the Reid Highway Works. Aubin Grove Station was the first island rail platform to be built within a “live rail” environment in WA.

Prefabrication of modularised station building elements, and close attention to project management, allowed Georgiou to meet the ambitious 14-month construction timeframe.

With a high level of complexity due to the challenging working environment, a fast and relentless program and complex stakeholder interfaces, the project was delivered within budget and to a very high standard of quality. Completing the June modular lifting program within the allowed rail and freeway shutdown times was the major achievement which ensured the successful delivery of the project.

Krysten Lawrence, Paul Reed, John Galvin, Jason Flowerdew, Steven Pilling and Jason Fletcher from Georgiou

Category 4 ($10 – $30 million) was won by Ertech for the Perth Airport T1 Forecourt Plaza and PRM Drop-Off Facility.

Construction of the new paved T1 forecourt plaza was undertaken in a heavily congested brownfields environment, which presented a range of difficult environmental constraints. The contract tender made it clear that logical and pedestrian-friendly staging of the works was required to minimise the impact on the travelling public.

Ertech undertook significant detailed planning and staging of the works during the tender phase and presented this as part of the tender evaluation.

Ertech’s meticulous approach to planning and management made a significant contribution to the ultimate success of the project.

Mick Unger, Tony Vagg, Alec Courts and Dan Chittick from Ertech

The Category 3 ($5 – $10 million) winner was BMD Constructions for the Third Avenue Bridge Replacement.

The deconstruction of the existing bridge and construction of the new structure needed to occur while maintaining pedestrian and cycle traffic along the existing shared path underpass and without impacting the busy Midland rail line in Maylands.

Building the bridge over a live rail line inherently involved multiple risks, including working at heights, placing large beams over a live rail corridor, traffic control, service locating and managing vibrations. As a highly experienced bridge contractor, BMD worked innovatively to overcome these risks.

Stuart Brooks (Brooks Hire), Leon Fogliani (BMD Constructions) and John Carey MLA

Five strong finalists made for intense competition in the Category 2 Earth Award ($2 – $5 million), which went to Neo Infrastructure for the Seabird Foreshore Stabilisation Works.

Neo constructed a 750m seawall to protect the small beachside town, which has been threatened by recent aggressive coastal erosion.

Design innovations implemented by Neo included: Extension of the seawall to the north for greater protection; Extension of the southern return wall to the limestone cliff face to prevent future scouring; and delaying batter construction to enable the batter footprint to be used as access to place rock.

The original timeframe for the project was 18 weeks – Neo completed the project, including extra works and the northern seawall extension in 12 weeks.

The team from Neo Infrastructure celebrating its Category 2 win.

The Category 1 Earth Award (projects valued up to $1 million) was won by Enviro Infrastructure for the Refurbishment of Bridge 0930, Haydn Bunton Drive.

This project required a contractor experienced in operating in high risk, high compliance rail environments yet adaptable enough to use innovative techniques.

To safely remove the protection screens and bridge beams over the live rail network, just metres from high voltage lines, Enviro conceived a custom bridge clamp system which was fitted with access walkways and a protection hoarding. This formed a barrier between the worksite and the overhead lines, allowing the screens to be removed during live rail movements – the first time any such system had been used in the state.

Enviro identified several other significant cost and time saving measures, including changing the precast concrete footpath elements to poured-in-situ.


Glenn Whitehurst (MJB Industries), Hayden Paterson (Enviro Infrastructure), and John Carey MLA

The six category winners will represent WA at the National Earth Awards, to be presented at a gala awards night in Canberra in November.


CCF WA thanks our Earth Award sponsors